Untitled Document

Chapter 4

BLACK – 1. The color symbolizes grief, sorrow, sickness and death. 2. It is a liturgical color used on Good Friday.

BLUE – 1. The color signifies Heaven, wisdom and charity. 2. Blue symbolizes the Virgin Mary. 3. Blue is often connected with the angelic class known as the Cherubim. 4. Blue is a liturgical color in some churches and is sometimes substituted for violet during the season of Advent.

BROWN – 1. The color symbolizes the rejection of this world.

GOLD – 1. The color symbolizes worth, wealth, kingliness, and splendor. 2. It can symbolize Jesus’ kingly office.

GREEN – 1. The color symbolizes growth, life, hope, fidelity, and immortality. 2. Green is a liturgical color used on the Sundays after the Feast of the Holy Trinity. It is also worn by the clergy when no other colors are specifically called for.

GREY – A color reminiscent of ashes, which symbolizes repentance and humility.

PINK (Rose) – The color of the third Advent candle symbolizing joy.


RED – 1. The color symbolizes love, fervor, holy zeal, and youth. 2. It is a color closely connected with blood and martyrdom. 3. It is also a symbol of the Holy Spirit and the Church. 4. Red is connected with the angelic class known as Seraphim. 5. Red is a liturgical color used for Pentecost, Harvest Festival, Reformation Sunday, a church anniversary or dedication, martyr’s days, Thanksgiving and All Saint’s Day.

VIOLET (Purple) – 1. The color symbolizes penitence, referring to the purple garments put on Jesus when He was mocked (John 19:2). 2. It is a color used to symbolize royalty. 3. It is symbolic of preparation, mourning, humiliation and the Passion. 4. Purple is a liturgical color used during the seasons that call for repentance: the four Sundays of Advent, Lent, Holy Week, and Maundy Thursday.

WHITE – The color symbolizes light, purity, innocence, joy, virginity and purification. 2. It is the color of all saints who did not suffer martyrdom. 3. White is a liturgical color used for Christmas, Epiphany, the Transfiguration of our Lord, Easter, Ascension Day, and the Festival of the Holy Trinity.

YELLOW – A non-liturgical color that is rarely used. 1. Yellow symbolizes cowardice, disloyalty, treachery, jealousy and treason and is therefore closely connected to Judas Iscariot. 2. If yellow is used as a substitute for gold it symbolizes love, constancy, dignity, and wisdom.

Untitled Document

© 2016 By Doug Gray. All Rights Reserved.